| +613 9824 0420


Sergio Cirio claims Adelaide United Club Champion Award

Share this:

Spanish forward Sergio Cirio won Adelaide’s United’s top honour – the Aurelio Vidmar Club Champion Award – for season 2014-2015 of the A-League.

In his second season for the Reds, Cirio started every game this season in both the A-League and FFA Cup campaigns, the only player to do so.

The 30 -year-old scored the winner in the inaugural Westfield FFA Cup final and was awarded the Mark Viduka Medal for being the most outstanding player in the decider.

“Firstly, it’s a honor to win this award for such a great club,” Cirio said.

“I want to say thank you to every one of my teammates, because I couldn’t have done it without you.

“Also thank you to the club for giving me the opportunity to play here in Australia, and of course, to my partner Laura because she follows and supports me everywhere I go.”


Sergo Cirio recieving his AUFC Club Champion Award from Aurelio Vidmar.


A panel of judges voted for the winner of this award at the completion of each game played based the following criteria; made a significant positive difference to the team’s performance during the games played, and represented the club in an exemplary way on the field of play.

Utility Tarek Elrich, who was second in the voting for the top award, capped off his sensational campaign by claiming three gongs – Best Team Man, Player’s Player Award and ‘We Are The Reds’ Fans Player Of The Year.

Jimmy Jeggo won the club’s Rising Star Award – to add to his NAB Young Footballer of Year nod at the A-League 2014-2015 Awards.

For the Youth Team, striker Dylan Smith took out the Youth Team Highest Goal Scorer with 9 goals, while the Youth Team Most Valuable Player (MVP) went to Oliver Zafiridis.

Adelaide United 201-20/15 Award Winners

Aurelio Vidmar Club Champion – Sergio Cirio
Player’s Player – Tarek Elrich
Best Team Man – Tarek Elrich
Rising Star – Jimmy Jeggo
‘We Are The Reds Forum’ Fans Player of the Year – Tarek Elrich
Youth Team Most Valuable Player – Oliver Zafiridis
Youth Team Highest Goal Scorer – Dylan Smith

© 2015 SBS | This article first appeared on The World Game SBS on 23 May 2015.


Other Posts

FIA Social Media